Breaking Free

Did I tell you all that I live in a society were self-care should be the last thing on my mind? Or may be a part of my definition for self-care doesn’t match with what the society expects out of me.

I have been one among those who wanted to break free from everything that suffocated me, but I was always taught that family’s reputation should never be stained. I was supposed to be this goody-goody girl who put herself last and everything else first. But then I realised what is the point of doing all this when deep down in my heart I am unhappy? What is the point of pleasing others by keeping up with the fake smile and stopping myself from breaking free and just being myself?

Till the time I used to swim, I used to talk to myself in the water, I used to scream and shout in the water so that the world outside doesn’t get to know about the agony in me. It went on this way for a while till I couldn’t stand this any more. I then decided to break free.

I decided to give myself priority and then worry about everyone else because of a simple logical reason… If I am unhappy, how will I be able to spread happiness and peace around me?

So, here are those points which define what I mean by self-care:

  1. If it feels wrong, don’t do it
  2. Say exactly what you mean
  3. Don’t be a people pleaser
  4. Trust your instincts
  5. Never speak bad about yourself
  6. Never give up on your dreams
  7. Don’t be afraid to say no
  8. Don’t be afraid to say yes
  9. Be kind to yourself
  10. Let go of what you cannot control and can’t be in your control either
  11. Stay away from drama & negativity
  12. Love

It hasn’t been easy for me to follow these 12 rules of self-care. I have been scolded by the elders, I have been called selfish, self-centred and so on by my so called friends and relatives.

Am I doing something wrong? 😦

What do you think? Is it wrong to give yourself preference and taking care of your own happiness?

5 thoughts on “Breaking Free

  1. If you can’t stand on your own feet, what help can you be to others? There may be different social rules that you areare subject to obviously. You should be able to be happy and strong in yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

