Appreciate Life

“Be thankful for what you have; you’ll end up having more. If you concentrate on what you don’t have, you will never, ever have enough” -Oprah Winfrey

I had recently read a short story that made me once again realise that we should be grateful for what we have and appreciate life the way it is. The story was as follows…

‘While relaxing in a garden, a dog saw a cat on the top of a high wall and thought, “It must be so nice to be so high above the ground. If only I could climb up.” This feeling of envy made it so bad-tempered, that it didn’t even wag its tail at its master, who came to give it some milk.

Then it saw a goldfish in the river and wished that it too could live in the cold water. Envy made it angry once again. Just then it heard the fish say, “It looks so nice and warm on the grass. I wish I could lie down on it.”

After some time, a sparrow flew past. Seeing the dog lazing around, it said aloud, “I wish i could play all day like this dog. I wish I didn’t have to build a nest for myself, search for food and tire my wings.”

Listening to them, the dog realised its folly for not appreciating what it had.’

 

How many of us are like the dog in the story? Most of us? I know it is a tough task to be happy with what ever we have and not want for more. It is difficult to appreciate our own life and is easier to appreciate other’s life and let the feeling of envy make its way to our mind & heart.

But is that negativity worth your energy? Is that cribbing worth your time and feelings? No, it isn’t.

I am not telling this because the story says so. I am telling this because I have been through that myself. I have envied so many people who had got things so easy in life whereas I had to strive for what ever I had got till date. I never appreciated what I had. It was then my mother had put some sense into my brain and guided me to the right path of appreciation. Thanks to her teachings, I have learnt to appreciate what I have. Stories like these just remind me of what my mother had taught me. Trust me, it had made me a happier person. 🙂

It isn’t too late, start appreciating your life and also appreciate what you have. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Appreciate Life

  1. Appreciate everything around you. Few things are permanent. The tides of life ebb and flow dragging things away and bringing back new things. The cycle is continuous but is maddening if you try to hold on to everything and want things that aren’t there.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

