I wasn’t alone…

“We read to know we’re not alone.”
— William Nicholson, Shadowlands

I share a completely different relationship with the books I read. Being a sportswoman who was trying to manage academics side by side, I wasn’t left with a lot of time to ready books that were not a part of my academic syllabus. But the moment I had stepped into the college life, I had started finding time to read novels and other books.

I confess, the first book I read was by an Indian author, Chetan Bhagat. That’s the day I realised there are books that are beyond the fairy tales and the comics that I had read as a kid.

I must say, it is because of that Indian writer, the reading scenario in India has changed drastically. So yeah, since that day my journey with books had begun. I was unknowingly trying to find my stories in those books and telling myself that I wasn’t the only one stuck in awkward situations or going through tough times. My books have now become my place of solace and no matter where I am, you are bound to find a book with me always.

My preference of books had slowly shifted from chic-lit books to crime, thriller, romance, to finally self-help & motivational books. Off late I have been reading books on psychology, sales, marketing and business too. So I am a reader who isn’t restricted to a particular genre of books.

If asked about a book that had changed my life, it would definitely be ‘I am another you’ by Priya Kumar. I had read so many books before reading this one. I could connect so well with the books I had previously read because they had a part of me in them and I was easily able to step into the shoes of the character. But the first book that had made me look at myself and made me realise that I need to change myself and my outlook, was the one I had mentioned above. Since then I had started reading books that would help me and guide me with ways of how one can live a differently.

Usually when someone sees me read self-help books, they think I am depressed or going through tough times, but that isn’t true. I read those books to see what more can I do to make the best out of the one life I am gifted with. I don’t want to be on the death-bed with regrets and unfulfilled wishes.

I have also started reading books that have stories of entrepreneurs who have struggled, failed and have got given up on themselves. Not only do they inspire me and make me feel that I am not the only one struggling, but being a lecturer in Commerce, I do share their stories to make my classroom teaching and the subject more interesting for the students.

After reading so many books, I couldn’t help but to start blogging to share my views and experiences with the world hoping that my experience could serve as a lesson to others too. To my surprise, as soon as I started blogging here on WordPress, I had come across so many interesting blogs that were an eye opener to me. I had once again felt that I wasn’t alone. There are people out there who share the same views as I do. I have interacted with so many bloggers over my blog comments that I now feel blessed and thankful for the kind of exposure that I am having here to learn so much and grow in life!

I feel one must read books to bring out the best in them. You can read books to enhance your imagination, you can read books to grow more knowledgeable, you can run away from  the harsh reality and lead a different life in the books you read, you can experience emotions that you never thought you would in reality, you can learn from the mistakes that others have committed, you can get inspired to do so much in life and so on. But there is one thing that every book will make you feel… You aren’t alone.

So go ahead and fetch yourself a book and see how your life begins to change. 🙂

Leave a Reply

