Guru Purnima

It’s Guru Purnima today and I can’t resist writing this blog today. This auspicious day is an Indian and Nepalese festival dedicated to spiritual and academic teachers. This festival is traditionally celebrated by Hindus, Jains and Buddhists, to pay their respects to their teachers and express their gratitude. Being a lecturer who has chosen this profession out of the passion to educate the generation and make them winners in not only the race of academics but also in the race of life. It was a pleasant surprise for to receive letters and cards from my students expressing what I am to them. 

Till date all that I had done for my students was just to see them grow and become someone in life. Neither did look at my salary and nor did I bother about how much time of the day was I spending teaching in class and then attending to their doubts over Skype and Whatsapp. I don’t remember the last time I had spend enough quality time with my family and friends  because I had always given my students the preference.

Everyone had just question to ask me, “Harshita, is your effort worth it?”

For some reason that question never bothered me. I knew that I was moulding young minds and if not now, then some day in future my teachings would reflect in my students. I have tried being their lecturer, their guide, their mentor, they elder sister and for few, I was like their mother. Being a lecturer I had played many roles and I knew my efforts would bear fruits….and they did.

This year after I had shifted my college, I realised what I meant to my students. The number of messages I receive from them every now and then make want to just give my students a tight hug. Few have written hand notes for me too. I am about to share just 2 out of the many notes that I had received.

My only purpose of sharing these personal messages is to show the world that teachers / lecturers still have the power to influence children and this is how the world can be made a better place for everyone.

The bond of a Guru ( teacher) and Shishya (student) will always remain to be a special one. Years down the line you never know which student of yours might think about you and thank you for being a part of their life.

Happy Guru Purnima to all the teachers out there! 🙂

 

IMG_20170709_014208536IMG_20170709_014216967IMG_20170709_014229029IMG_20170709_014238597IMG_20170709_014153623

 

 

IMG_20170709_132515928IMG_20170709_132415333IMG_20170709_132442586IMG_20170709_132500447

Leave a Reply

