Who does Chai remind me of?

So, I just came across this post on instagram by Teribly Tiny Tales (ttt) and it didn’t take me much time to instantly write something based on that. The image was this:

Now, if you have been following me on instagram, you would know how much I love having Chai. But, what you will not be knowing is, who runs on my mind when I am having chai.

Without a second thought, it reminds me of my mom and my husband.

Starting off with the love of my life, Ayush.
They say that a lot can happen over coffee, but I say that a lot more can happen over a cup of chai and samosas too. Back then I used to be a fitness freak who spent a lot of time at the park in the evening, working out and meditating. When Ayush had come back from Bangalore, I never knew that it would become our ritual to meet at Lamakaan after my evening workout to have chai and samosas together. In between the chai and the conversations, our friendship grew stronger and we never got to know when love blossomed. I still remember how he used to wind up his business work early just to come have chai with me. We used to discuss everything under the sun over that one magical cup of chai.  A perfect date with him has always been a cup of good chai and his company to make my smile. I know for the fact that if we ever lose our spark, it is our chai & conversations that is going to bring that back again. 🙂

now, coming to my super woman… my mumma!
I have always had a hectic life since childhood and I still continue to do so; in all that hustle and bustle, mumma and I always made it a point to have tea together. our teaching profession left us with very little time together and we hardly used to get time to update eachother with what’s going on in our lives. our 20 minutes chai time in the evening after work had over the time become our mother-daughter bonding time. After that we used to get busying with tution and house work, and that left us with no time to bond. Till date, when I visit home, the first thing that my mom offers me is chai.

Now that I’m married and have come to another house and live with a new family, I usually have my cup of chai alone or with my students right after college. Their company for chai has been a blessing to me and it can’t be expressed in words.

But, towards the end of the day, my chai still feels incomplete. It’s like it has lost it’s essence. Though I might be enjoying the chai, but in my mind, my memories with Ayush & mumma keep flashing and make me emotional sometimes. I miss my special chai dates with them.

Leave a comment